Welcome to My Morning

Since Mr. Dewey works nights, and I work part-time in the afternoons, we often have the opportunity to luxuriate over brekkist.  Over the last couple of years I’ve worked on expanding my brekkist menu to incorporate a variety of ingredients, nutrients, and just plain old good stuff.  We eat a lot of eggs.  I don’t worry about cholesterol because we buy organic, fresh eggs from friends who raise chickens when possible, and from our local Earth Fare the rest of the time.  Organic eggs have less cholesterol, and more healthy fats than “normal” commercial eggs – and less guilt, too, when they are from free range chickens.  However, we do occasionally use an egg substitute, in the form of tofu.  I first tried tofu for breakfast years ago, using a product called “Tofu Scrambler.”  It was tasty, but at about $2.80 a box (two meal), it seemed too expensive for me.  So, I played around with flavors and came up with a pretty tasty version without the packaging and expense.

First, I finely chop a bit of onion – maybe 2 tablespoons – and sauté that in olive oil.  When the onions start to soften, I add a teaspoon or so of chopped garlic, maybe half a teaspoon each of ground cumin and ground coriander, fresh black pepper, and a good tablespoon or more of turmeric.  This gets stirred around until it forms a nice paste and fills the kitchen with the smells of, well, heaven.  I will often add a pinch of salt, simply because the turmeric can taste a little bitter, and the salt cuts that back a bit.  I also add whatever veggies I have on hand at the time.  Some favorites are shredded zucchini, mushrooms, sweet peppers, carrots, arugula – whatever.  I typically don’t add tomatoes because they produce a lot of moisture, which can make the dish a little soupy.  Sometimes I will add a diced plum tomato after the dish is cooked, just for fun.

Then I drain and crumble an 8 ounce package of sprouted tofu and add it, stirring well so all those wonderful spices mix in.  Turmeric’s color makes the dish resemble scrambled eggs, too.  It’s a healthy, tasty and easy breakfast, and a great way to use up little dabs of vegetables.

Leave a Reply

