How Do You Stretch a Duck?

We have a little bitty Farmers Market in town, and a larger, growing one in Johnson City, and a decent one in nearby Jonesborough.  It makes me happy to see them growing.  But on occasion, Mr. Dewey and I will drive across the mountains, over the state line, and into Abingdon, to their Saturday morning Farmers Market.  We make a day out of it – bracketing it with brekkist at Zazzy’z and a nice walk on the Creeper Trail with Chester.  In addition to produce, they have craftspeople selling their wares and a larger selection of locally raised, free-range meats and poultry.

One day a few years ago, in early Autumn, I purchased a frozen duck from a farmer who raises heirloom varieties.  It was pricey – $28 for a 3 pound bird.  But I wanted to give it a try.  I like duck.  My sister, Karin, raised Muscovies on her farm in Wisconsin.  They were delicious; moist but not greasy, and with a flavor more exotic than chicken or turkey, but not musky.  So home we went with our duck and a few other fun things.

Here’s Daffy after a few hours in the smoker.

So, now that I had a 3-pound bird, what would I do with it?  Sure, I could simply roast it, or grill it, and have dinner, but in one meal, the duck would be gone.  I wanted to stretch it out a bit.  And, being newly graced with a smoker, which I had gotten in trade for an extra iPod stereo player we had, I decided to give that method a go.  With 5 apple trees, we had the perfect wood at hand.  After the duck was smoked, I carved it and wrapped it in phyllo dough, layered with some sautéed leeks from the garden.  Baked in a hot oven just long enough to give the phyllo a crisp, brown exterior, I had a dozen lovely packets.  Served with a salad or light soup, my duck would be stretched out to 3 meals for Mr. Dewey and I.

My last adventure related to the duck was to create a sauce for the packets.  Feta cheese comes to mind whenever phyllo dough is mentioned, but I wanted something that would complement, not override the flavor of that applewood smoked meat.  It just so happened that I had made another exploratory purchase at the Farmers Market: Autumn Olives.  Also known as Autumnberries, they grow wild in the mountain forests all around us, and are considered a bit of a nuisance plant.  It was simple enough to cook them down and run them through a sieve, adding just a little sugar and some lemon juice to preserve their bright color.  A sauce was born!

We keep missing the duck guy when we go to Abingdon, so I have not repeated this meal since that first adventure.  But the next time we see him, we will get his card!

Smoked Duck and Leek Packets with Autumn Olive Sauce.

Leave a Reply

